Third Observers to reward companies with good track record


In its efforts to rewards quoted companies listed on the floor of the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) for good track record on dividend payout to their shareholders, Third Observers Nigeria Limited has finalised to compensate not less than 10 companies.
According to Managing Director, Third Observers Nigeria Limited, Abiodun Ayodele, the event is the maiden edition of the yearly Dividend Payment Awards for Nigeria’s listed Companies (Listed Companies Dividend Payment Awards), which Third Observers Nigeria Limited is organizing to sensitize the Nigerian Public and particularly the shareholders of quoted companies in Nigeria to the availability of dividend income every year from investment in the quoted companies in the country and to identify the various companies’ performances to date on dividend payment.
The event is supported by the apex regulator of the Nigerian Capital Market, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), he said.
The award is coming up on 10 February 2018 at the Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos.
Ayodele stated that, the event begins at 5.30pm and would be chaired by a former Vice Chancellor of University of Lagos and Director of both Zenith Bank PLC, and Chasms PLC, Professor Oyewusi Ibidapo Obe, OFR.
“The special Guests of Honour expected at the grand ceremony are the Oyo state Governor, His Excellency, Senator Abiola Ajimobi; the lagos State Governor, His Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode (also invited as Honourary Chief Host); the Edo State Governor, His Excellency, Mr. Godwin Obaseki; and the Kano State Governor, His Excellency, Dr. Abdullahi Ganduje. The event will equally be graced by many distinguished guests as VIP Guests. They include the Honourable Minister of Trade, and Industry, Mr. Okechukwu Enelamah; the acting Director General of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Dr. Abdul Zubair; President of the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE), Mr. Abimbola Ogunbanjo; the Chief Executive Officer of the Exchange, Mr. Oscar Onyema; including the pioneer president of the Exchange, Mr. Akintola Williams, OFR; Chairmen and CEOs of various companies; top government and private sector functionaries, etc.”
The Gold Award winners at the presentation event are companies with a minimum of 35 years of dividend payments as quoted entities. They are Vitafoam Nigeria PLC (38 Years), Flour Mills of Nigeria PLC (37 years of dividend payments) and Nigerian Breweries PLC (36 years). The other awardees are the silver category award winners (at least 20 years of dividend payments as quoted entities), which include Berger Paints Nigeria PLC, Guaranty Trust Bank PLC, Union Bank PLC, FBN Holdings PLC, etc while the Bronze awardee (10 and 15 years of dividend payments as quoted entities) include Preso PLC, NEM Insurance PLC, Zenith Bank PLC, etc, the organizer stated.
The event’s distinguished Host is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Third Observers Nigeria limited and a former president of the Nigerian Bar, Dame Priscilla Kuye. She is supported by other directors, including two highly respected capital market investors and veterans as well as directors of some of the quoted companies – Sir. Sunday Nnamdi Nwosu (Vice Chairman of the Board), Dr. Faruk Umar – and Dr. Joseph Akinde, FWACS.